A dragon with wheels, it's a Wheel Dragon.

September 30, 2021


A small watercolor doodle of a Wheel Dragon for Inktober.

October 7, 2021


Early progress on the new track generator creating a variety of paths. Numbers represent straight and corner sections of track.

I want to generate the tracks in a different way, so I started working on it. These tracks will be compact like an indoor go-kart course or off-road obstacle course. There are only a handful of path combinations at the moment, but I'll make more possibilities later.




October 28, 2021


Making some progress on the track generator. Walls (red) are placed along the path, and track sectors (gray) are checked during play to figure out what kind of terrain the player is on.

November 3, 2021


Some more progress on the track generator. Still tons to do, but it's getting somewhere :D Very exciting!


The track has height again. Depth-sorting isn't handled yet, so you might notice some strange overlapping in places. I need to fix that next (not looking forward to it!). In this gif, the top left corner doesn't change, but I've fixed that.


Driving around on just this with nothing else on the track is already fun. I'm happy that it's getting somewhere :D

November 19, 2021


A newt and a six-wheeler. I'm experimenting with the inhabitants of this world, style, and proportions. I don't think I'm going to use outlines for the artstyle of the game, but I tried it here.

November 22, 2021


I just found this rough mobile game mockup from 2016. I think it was supposed to be a very drift-y version of Derbytown that you could play with one hand. Could be a fun little endless racer or something like that. Maybe I'll come back to the idea someday and call it Derbytown Drift.

December 16, 2021


Page 7