I hooked up the track editor to the car to make it quicker to create tracks, and it's kinda fun :) If I put a track creator in the game, maybe I'll add this option.

Apr 28, 2021


Here's a drawing in the style of keyframe and inbetween art for animation. Colors like these are used to show where the shading and highlights should be. It'd be cool to try animating an exciting intro for this game like a cartoon, but I've never done that before so I think it'll be too out-of-scope for me to try, heh.


Below is a time lapse process video. I started off sketching the Derbytown truck from memory, and then I remembered I already made sprites for the game that I could use for angle reference. Later you might notice the car has bumps, bandages, and an expression. I wanted to use it as a funny illustration next to a gameplay gif showing the car bumping into a bunch of walls, but I didn't like how it was turning out so I drew the car sliding on some dirt instead!


May 3, 2021


I've been a little stuck on which direction I'm gonna take the game. There are a few options I've had in mind, and I know I won't figure out which one to go with until I prototype them to answer some questions. The first option has opponent racers, so I'm working towards that scenario and put some other racers into the game. I'm the yellow one!

June 5, 2021


I added water pits to the track generator and it's fun to splash through it :) At first I implemented it wrong and it made everything water including the hills, which gave me some ideas for waterfalls and water currents. Like driving on a shallow creek. Might try that sometime!

June 8, 2021


A wheel enemy.

I want to try out combat moves to see if I can make that fun enough to be one of the focuses of the game. Wheels would be a nice motif for Derbytown, so it makes sense for a basic enemy to be a wheel of some kind. Here are a few of them following and circling around the player.


My babies. My children.

June 29, 2021


Page 4